Schools helping schools deliver on agricultural education

Minister for Education Adrian Piccoli has announced the first seven NSW public schools selected to lead the way in the future delivery of agricultural education.

"The teachers at these schools will now play a mentoring role with their colleagues in other schools across the State," Mr Piccoli said.

"Agriculture contributes around $9 billion to the NSW economy every year and it is critical that we have relevant, high-quality agricultural education and training.

"These schools have been selected for outstanding student engagement and career promotion in Agriculture and Primary Industries."

The first lighthouse schools established as a response to the recommendations of the Pratley Review into Agricultural Education and Training in NSW are:

  • Colo High School
  • Junee High School
  • Kempsey High School
  • Pittwater High School
  • Mount View High School
  • Murrumburrah High School
  • Tumut High School

Pittwater High School is the only urban school selected as a lighthouse school for the teaching of Agriculture and Primary Industries.

"It's great to see an urban school among those leading the way in agricultural education," Mr Piccoli said.

"To be chosen to be part of this program is a particular honour for Pittwater High because they are showing these exemplary standards in an urban environment," Member for Pittwater and Minister for Planning Rob Stokes said.

"Pittwater High has a proud history of agricultural education and this announcement recognises and rewards its innovation and success on a state-wide scale."

Other NSW schools will be invited to submit Expressions of Interest to join the lighthouse schools group later this year.


This site uses Google Translate, a free language translation service, as an aid. Please note translation accuracy will vary across languages.