Young scholars keep the legacy alive

Premier's ANZAC Memorial Scholarship recipients

A group of Year 10 and 11 students from schools across NSW will make a pilgrimage to sites of military significance in South East Asia, including Singapore, in an effort to learn more about the Anzac legacy.

Twelve NSW public school recipients of the 2013 Premier's ANZAC Memorial Scholarships were announced by Minister for Citizenship and Communities Victor Dominello.

The scholars' trip will take place over two weeks in June/July 2013. The group will visit sites of military bases and other significant places where Australian soldiers served their country.

Mr Dominello said it was a unique opportunity for the students to learn about Australia's military involvement in the region, "not from a text-book but through first-hand experience".

"By seeing the places where Australian servicemen lived and fought, and by forging connections with local communities, this unparalleled real-life learning experience will undoubtedly open their eyes to the realities of war."

"In remembrance of fallen Anzacs, the scholars will scatter the ashes of commemorative paper stars inscribed with the names of Australian casualties of the war, originally cast in tribute by visitors to the ANZAC Memorial."

Mr Dominello said the students were selected for their commitment to the study of Australian history, and for their passion and involvement in maintaining the Anzac tradition in their communities. Two teachers, Kylea Rowing from Batemans Bay High and Darren Williams from Chatham High School, were also selected to accompany the group.

Before and after their trip, the scholars will play a leading role in commemorative activities at schools and memorials, as well as submitting an individual project about their experiences.

NSW public school Premier's ANZAC Memorial Scholarship 2013 recipients

Cameron Allan – Merewether High School

Sarah Erimya – Bonnyrigg High School

Effie Fergusson – Dunedoo Central School

Ani Hoxha – Elderslie High School

Simran Kaur – Sydney Girls High School

Tahmyna Khoshnoud-Rad – Henry Kendall High School

Corey Matthews-Wood – St Mary's Senior High School

James Mitchell – Albury High School

Milena Mitic – Girraween High School

Gabrielle Nguyen - St George Girls High School

Benjamin Standen – Nowra High School

Willis Thompson – Wauchope High School

Luke Wye – Nyngan High School


This site uses Google Translate, a free language translation service, as an aid. Please note translation accuracy will vary across languages.