Top educators receive Minister’s Quality Teaching Award

Almost 50 educators from around the state have received the prestigious 2012 Minister's Teaching Quality Award.

The outstanding teachers (34 from public schools and 10 from TAFE NSW colleges) were presented the inaugural award for excellence in teaching at a ceremony held in Sydney.

Minister for Education Adrian Piccoli said the teachers were recognised for their contributions to quality education.

"Teachers in NSW do an amazing job and the research from around the world is clear; the quality of the education you offer your young people is only as good as the teaching in your schools," Mr Piccoli said.

"Great teachers have a rich repertoire of teaching strategies and know how and when to use these strategies to help their students.

"What impresses me particularly is the rich variety of skills, interests and achievement shown by these teachers who have earned the respect of their students, colleagues, principals, institute directors and communities," he said.

2012 Minister's Quality Teaching Award recipients

NSW public schools

Bronwyn Annetts – Nangus Public School

Nadina Bampton – Wollongong High School of the Performing Arts

Joachim Cohen – JJ Cahill Memorial High School

Suzanne Crouch – Buxton Public School

Heidi Currie – Pennant Hills High School

Michael Dann – Lakemba Public School

Mary Doolan – Coonabarabran High School

Leanne Dransfield – Eglinton Public School

Penelope Earp – Wairoa School

Ronda Gaffey – Cabramatta High School

Debra Gormly – Wewak Street School, Albury North

Skye Gray – Wollongong High School of the Performing Arts

Cheryl Harbridge – Epping North Public School

Graham Hemmings – Armidale High School

Jacqueline Hood – Denison College of Secondary Education, Bathurst High School Campus

Julie Hurford – North Coast Region

James Hurley – Girraween High School

Pamela Ko – Kellyville Public School

Alice Leung – Merrylands High School

Sandra Hutchinson – Killarney Heights High School

Amy Krisenthal – Chifley College, Shalvey Campus

Mariclare Malone – Bega Valley Public School

Roslyn Mangold – Westport Public School

Nerida McNamara – Singleton High School

Lisa Nardi – Hanwood Public School

Melissa Pomering – Condobolin High School

Tanya Quigg – Koonawarra Public School

Amanda Seckold – Girraween High School

Debbie Small – Glenmore Park Public School

Nadia Tobia – Northern Sydney Region

Andrew Upton – Kooringal High School

Diane Veersema- Macintyre High School

Andrea Webster – Woodberry Public School

Ivana Zekanovic – Hilltop Road Public School


Karen Doyle – TAFE NSW, Northern Sydney Institute, Ryde College

Fran Hughes – TAFE NSW, Sydney Institute, Randwick College

Debbie Kennington – TAFE NSW, North Coast Institute, Port Macquarie Campus

Glenn Martin – TAFE NSW, South Western Sydney Institute, Lidcombe Campus

Amanda McCartney – TAFE NSW, Western Institute, Orange College

Michael Nicholson – TAFE NSW, Riverina Institute, Albury Campus

Justine Poidevin – TAFE NSW, Illawarra Institute, Wollongong Campus

Nathan Rose – TAFE NSW, Western Sydney Institute, Nirimba College

Judith Skerritt – TAFE NSW, Hunter Institute, Glendale Campus

Elizabeth Von Gavel – TAFE NSW, New England Institute, Moree Campus


This site uses Google Translate, a free language translation service, as an aid. Please note translation accuracy will vary across languages.