Public Education Foundation 2013 scholarship recipients

Award recipients

The hard work of 36 principals, teachers and students has been rewarded with the announcement of the Public Education Foundation's scholarship recipients for 2013.

Celebrating the Achievements of Public Education is the foundation's first awards night applauding the accomplishments of the NSW public school community.

Chief Executive Verity Firth said 36 recipients were awarded scholarships during the celebrations.

"These scholarships recognise the talent and hard work of our students, teachers and principals in government schools," Ms Firth said.

"They provide financial assistance for students to follow their passion and for principals to hone their leadership skills.

"Celebrating the Achievements of Public Education highlights the contribution that public schools, teachers, students and parents make to our community."

The Department of Education and Communities' Director-General Michele Bruniges said the scholarship recipients reflected the excellent teaching and learning that occurs in NSW public schools every day.

"I'm very proud of the calibre of the students and public education staff who have been honoured with these scholarships," Dr Bruniges said.

"The students come from all different backgrounds, including some who came to Australia as refugees, and they all have inspirational stories.

Dr Bruniges said principals Mark Burnard from Chifley College Bidwell Campus and Jude Hayman from Griffith Public School would benefit from the professional learning experience offered by their scholarships to Harvard Graduate School of Education.

"I'm sure they will share this knowledge with their colleagues."

The 2013 Public Education Foundation recipients

Harvard Club of Australia Education Scholarships
(Supports principals to attend a fully funded leadership program at Harvard Graduate School of Education, all air fares and accommodation included)

Mark Burnard, Chifley College Bidwell Campus
Jude Hayman, Griffith Public School

Friends of Zainab Scholarship
(Supports refugee students to finish Years 11 and 12 and enter tertiary study)

Sahro Abdikadir, Holroyd High School 
Goma Maya Acharya, St Marys Senior High School
Ranee Alqysie, Menai High School
Khin Moe Myint  Aung, Menai High School 
Kadiatou Drame, Chifley College Mt Druitt
Gaytari Dhungel, St Marys Senior High School 
Shikeba Fayazi, Arthur Phillip High School
Philomene Giraneza, Menai High School
Elaf Khaleel, Holroyd High School
Samuel Lasu, Menai High School
Masihullah  Mobin, Marrickville High School
Hedayat Osyan, Marsden High School
Feda Sarwari, Strathfield South High School
Nirukshan Shanmugan, Holroyd High School
Aime Shimirwa, Wagga Wagga High School
Jet Stay, Orara High School

Emorgo Scholarship for music
(Helps talented musicians attend the Conservatorium High School)

Anna Marsh, Conservatorium High School

Pinpoint Scholarship
(Helps girls in the middle years of high school in western Sydney to better participate in schooling)

Kyra Donnelly, Fairfield High School
Angela Franks, Airds High School
Parnian Hamidpour, Chester Hill High School
Marieke Hooymans, Chifley College Mt Druitt Campus
Sujneet Johal, Prairiewood High School
Brenda Tran, Canley Vale High School

Mama Lena & Dino Gustin Foundation Scholarship
(Provides a six-week intensive Italian language immersion course in Rome for students in Years 11 or 12)

Anna Green, Blaxland High School
Marley Young, Penrith High School

Medich Foundation, Elizabeth H Blackburn Scholarship
(Supports senior high school students in western Sydney who are interested in studying a medical related course at the University of Western Sydney)

Selena Ly, East Hills Girls Technology High

Ashlea Ross, Rooty Hill High School
Edward Trang, Hurlstone Agricultural High School

FEX Group Scholarship
(Provides financial and practical support to help students interested in building a career in economics or finance)

Janeda Ong Hurlstone Agricultural High School

Inner West Technology Scholarship
(Open to students in Year 9 in the Marrickville, Canterbury or City of Sydney areas who are interested in pursuing a career in the trades or technology)

Jai Jefferys, Canterbury Boys High School
Nathan Martin-Waqa, Canterbury Boys High School

Jan Levett Scholarship for Drama
(Encourages female students in senior high school in a remote or regional community to pursue a career in the dramatic arts)

Rebecca Macrae, Kyogle High School
Sian Murphy, Albury High School

Una May Smith Scholarships
(Gives Aboriginal students access to financial support and mentoring throughout their education)

William Patrick Freestone, Manilla Central School
Lyneah Pearl Mason, Narrabri Public School

Photo: Scholarship winners celebrate. Photo supplied.


This site uses Google Translate, a free language translation service, as an aid. Please note translation accuracy will vary across languages.