Achievement in community languages

Achievement in community languages

Ten NSW students were recognised for their achievement in community languages at a special ceremony in Sydney on 29 September.

The winners of this year's Minister's Awards for Excellence in Student Achievement – Community Languages were selected from more than 312 nominated students studying 35 languages around the state.

Each year, community language schools nominate students on the basis of their academic achievement, language proficiency and contribution to the community.

The students were presented with certificates of achievement by the Minister for Education, Adrian Piccoli.

As well as the 10 recipients of Minister's Awards, certificates were presented to 53 recipients of highly commended awards and to 67 recipients of commended awards.

The wide range of languages represented by the Minister's awardees in 2014 are Chinese, Croatian, Filipino, Korean, Polish, Sinhala, Swedish, Tamil, Ukrainian and Vietnamese.

The Department of Education and Communities administers the Community Languages Schools Program, which provides annual funding to community organisations to operate language classes outside mainstream school hours for school-aged children in NSW.

This year, more than 50 community or heritage languages were offered in more than 450 locations to around 31,000 students.

Junior recipients

Name and language

Community language school

School attended

Freyja Persson-Carboni (Swedish)

Swedish School in Sydney Inc

Forestville Public School

Nicholas Petrykowycz (Ukrainian)

St Andrews Ukrainian Ethnic School

Regina Coeli School

Klaudia Prasnicki (Croatian)

Central Council of Croatian Ethnic Schools of NSW Inc

St Madelaine's Primary School

Natalia Pruszynska (Polish)

Polish School of Sydney Inc

Kincoppal Rose Bay School of the Sacred Heart

Daniela Vassallo (Filipino)

Pinoy Community Cultural Class

Mackillop Catholic College

Senior recipients

Name and language

Community language school

School attended

Senara Gunathilake (Sinhala)

Sinhalese Cultural Forum of NSW Australia Inc

Macarthur Girls High

Gordon Lim (Korean)

Australia Korean School Inc

Mount Annan Christian College

Quynh Anh Mai (Vietnamese)

Vietnamese Parents Committee Green Valley Inc

Cabramatta High School

Ganan Vishagan Sritharan (Tamil)

Eastwood Tamil Study Centre Inc,

Baulkham Hills High School

Edward Ye (Chinese)

Datong Chinese School Inc

Homebush Boys High School

Photo: 2014 recipients of Minister's Award for Excellence in Student Achievement - Community Languages with the Minister for Education Adrian Piccoli. Photo by John Domeney.


This site uses Google Translate, a free language translation service, as an aid. Please note translation accuracy will vary across languages.